St. Patty’s Day Race

Yesterday was the St. Patty’s Day Race in Sioux Falls. My younger sister, Danielle, and I ran the 5 mile race at 9am, and my older sister, Marie, and my mom ran the 5K race at 11:30am. It was a gloomy day with temps aroung 35 degrees. Not great spectator weather, but it was nice for running. Despite the course being extremely muddy in a couple areas, I still beat my last year’s time by over two minutes! I was pumped! I ran 33:10.

My mom and Marie were all dressed up in Irish attire. Their hats made them easy to spot from a distance :).

After our races, we went to Kiladi’s for lunch. I had a chicken caesar wrap. Yummo!

In the afternoon, we went to Monk’s bar for the race awards. All race participants received a free pint of guiness. I’m not much of a beer drinker, but in celebration of St. Patty’s day, I managed to drink about a fourth of my pint :).

My mom, Danielle, and I all won our age groups so we received certificates. Woohoo! Haha!

On our ride home, we ate sugar cookies that we bought from Queen City Bakery. Oh man, they were good! But almost too pretty to eat. Don’t you think?

2 Comments

Filed under Races

2 responses to “St. Patty’s Day Race

  1. nikki

    love the hats!

  2. Hi. I was wondering if I could use your top photo along with a blog post on the South Dakota Magazine web site. Please email me at submissions@southdakotamagazine.com if that is OK. Thanks!
    Rebecca Johnson

Leave a Reply

